Sitio En Espanol

There are seven Municipal Court Judges and one Commissioner at the Mesa Municipal Court. 

Presiding City Magistrate J. Matias Tafoya (Arraignment Courtroom 202), Judge Robin Allen (Courtroom 301), Judge Valerye Boyer-Wells (Courtroom 302) Judge Michelle Lue Sang (Courtroom 303), Judge Karl Eppich (Courtroom 304), Judge Victor Ortiz (Courtroom 305), Judge Elizabeth Arriola (Custody Courtroom), and Commissioner Richard Garcia (Courtroom 101).

Selection of Judges:
The Mesa City Council established a Judicial Advisory Board in 1997. This Board is responsible for:

  • recommending to the City Council the best qualified persons to become judges and

  • evaluating the performance of appointed judges and advising the City Council about retaining them.


The City Council reviews the recommendations from the Judicial Advisory Board and appoints the judges. 
Mesa City Code Title 2 Chapter 3 
Judicial Advisory Board

The initial appointment is for a two-year term; if reappointed, the second term is a two year term; subsequent reappointments are for four-year terms
Mesa City Code Title 1 
Chapter 7 City Magistrates
Commissioners are appointed by the Presiding City Magistrate and preside over Civil Traffic Offenses.

Jury Information
Court Room


Contact the court by Email    

Court Home

Sitio En Espanol

Online Case Access
Protection Orders


Payment Information

Sanction Schedule


Telephone Access

Electronic Monitoring

Hearing Information



Jury Information

The Courtroom

Map of other Courts in Mesa and Dept. Motor Vehicle offices

Useful Links  Mesa City Prosecutor,  Small Claims, Civil Suits, Evictions, and Protective Orders.