Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)
Eligibility Requirements & Applications

The Section 8 Waiting List Is Currently Closed


Who's Eligible?
The Housing Choice Voucher program (Section 8) is limited to eligible, very low-income individuals (50% or less of median area income. Income Limits and Payment Standards) and families. City of Mesa Housing Authority will determine your eligibility based on:

  1. Annual gross income
  2. Whether you qualify as elderly, a person with a disability or as a family
  3. U.S. citizenship or eligible immigration status
  4. Documentation of social security numbers for all family members
  5. Your signing of consent authorization documents.


In addition to the eligibility criteria, City of Mesa Housing Authority will complete a criminal background check and sex offender check on all household member 18 years or older, and check if any household member has a debt to any Housing Authority . There may also be certain verification requirements on preferences that must be met.
Income Limits and Payment Standards:
Individuals or families whose income does not exceed the maximum annual gross income limits set by HUD are eligible for assistance. 



Housing and Community Development

20 E. Main Street, Suite 250
Mesa, AZ 85201

Mailing Address
PO Box 1466
Mesa, AZ 85211-1466

Tel   480.644.3536
Fax  480.644.2923
AzRelay 7-1-1

Email Us: housing.info@mesaaz.gov


Rental Assistance Programs

Homeownership Programs


Additional/Useful Links

Fair Housing
Fair Housing