Historic Preservation Awards ProgramGuidelines & Nomination form

Deadline for submission:  TBA for 2015

Since 1998 the City of Mesa has recognized citizens for outstanding efforts in the community who through skill and determination have given value and meaning to Mesa through historic preservation. 
The 2014 recipients were honored at the City Council meeting in June.


Beginning TBA, the Historic Preservation Board (HPB) will begin soliciting nominations from the public for the City of Mesa’s Historic Preservation Awards for Outstanding Achievement.  The request for nominations is advertised on Mesa Channel 11 and through the media via press release.   Nomination forms are available at the Historic Preservation Office, Mesa Public Library, Arizona Museum of Natural History, Mesa Historical Museum, and online.
Any person can submit a nomination by following the guidelines in this packet.  Nominations must be received at the Historic Preservation Office of the City of Mesa by TBA 2015 (by 6 p.m.). 
The HPB will begin review and consideration of nominations at their regular meeting in April.  The award recipients will be selected based on the AWARD CRITERIA.
The recipients will be notified in writing.
At one of the televised June meetings of the City Council, the Historic Preservation Board makes a presentation highlighting the Historic Preservation Awards and, with the assistance of the Mayor and Council, honors the Award recipients.  



2014: Donna Benge - Individual Lifetime Achievement; Petar and Shelly Nikolich - Rehabilitation & Restoration; Walter "Dutch" Duering - Archaeology, Education & Outreach, and Individual Lifetime Achievement

2013: Arizona Museum of Natural History - Archaeology, and Education & Outreach for Mesa Grande Cultural Park; Mesa Preservation Foundation - Rehabilitation & Restoration for Diving Lady Historic Neon Sign

2012: Mesa Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee and the Mesa Association of Hispanic Citizens – Adaptive Restoration and Reuse (Alston House); Mesa Preservation Foundation – Activism and Education; Ron Peters – Contribution to Restoration (Alston House), “Save the Train” Committee – Activism and Education

2008: Lisa Anderson – Education; Jerry Howard – Archaeology; Earl Merrill – Lifetime Contribution

2007: Mesa Public Schools – Restoration and Adaptive Reuse of Irving School

2006: Virginia Aquero – Citizen Activism, John Giles – Restoration and Adaptive Reuse; Victor Linoff – Lifetime Contribution; Celia Zaharis – Burns-General Preservation

2005: Nancy Norton – Education; Lori Osiecki – Lifetime Contribution; Mesa Violin Studios (Patricia Cosand, William Magers, Cathy Worcester) – Restoration and Adaptive Reuse

2004: Dilworth C. Brinton – Activism; East Valley Institute of Technology – Adaptive Reuse; Mary Olive Mott – Education

2003: Arlene McCabe – Rehabilitation; Virginia Aguero – Citizen Activism; Walt and Elaine McIver – Citizen Activism

2002: Adrian Barraza – Restoration; Bob and Tish Saemisch – Restoration; Barbara Atkinson – Citizen Activism; Mesa Historical Museum – General Preservation; Sarah Zafra – Education

2001: Jamie Klein and Kathryn Butler – General Preservation; Reta Reed Kellis – Education; Michael and Peggy Wright – Adaptive Reuse/Tourism

2000: Charles Crismon – General Preservation; Janice Gennevois – Restoration; Herman Funk – Education; Laura Watson – Citizen Activism

1999: Ron Peters – Lifetime Contribution; Jan Paderewski – Restoration and Adaptive Reuse; Alice and Ted Sliger – Tourism; Betty Welton – Citizen Activism; Mona Rogers – Education

1998: Suzie Sato – Education; Mark and Candace Reeb – Restoration; Lester “Truck” Dayton – for his book Truck’s Home Plate; Diane and Darwin Hughes – Adaptive Reuse

Historic Preservation home

Planning home

Office Hours:
7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., M - TH
Closed Fridays & Holidays

(480) 644-4273

55 N. Center St.
Mesa, AZ  85201

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1466
Mesa, AZ 85211

For more information contact:

John Wesley