Self-Insurance Board of Trustees

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Board meets as needed
Agendas & Minutes button


The City of Mesa is self-insured for three different types of claims/losses: (1) employee benefits, (2) loss and liability claims, and (3) workers’ compensation.  State law requires that all self-insurance program funds be placed in a trust fund and that the trust fund be administered by at least five joint trustees.  The City’ Self-Insurance Program Board of Trustees was created by the City Council pursuant to Section 501 of the City Charter and Ordinance No. 1260 on August 6, 1979, as amended by Ordinance 5125 on October 1, 2012.
As set forth in Mesa City Code § 2-17, the Self-Insurance Board of Trustees makes recommendations to the City Manager and the Council on matters pertaining to the financial viability of the trust funds.

Board members serve 3-year staggered terms.  The Chairperson is a Councilmember appointed by the Mayor and approved by Council.

Board Members

Ms. Linee Ferguson Re-appointed  7/1/2019  Term Expires 6/30/2022
Mr. Courtney Guinn                               Appointed 7/2/2018  Term Expires 6/30/2021
Ms. Kelly Vorseth Re-appointed  7/3/2017  Term Expires 6/30/2020
Mr. Kevin Thompson
Mr. Michael Kennington    Permanent Member