Mayor & Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City Council Meeting Information and Agendas

Mesa operates under a charter form of government with citizens electing a mayor and six councilmembers to set policy for the City.

Mesa's councilmembers serve terms of four-years, with three members being elected every two years. The mayor is elected at-large every four years. The mayor and council are elected on a non-partisan basis. The vice mayor is selected by the City Council.

The Mesa City Council believes that its people, not leaders, are what makes a City great and actively works to encourage citizen participation in the decision-making process. Whether it is through neighborhood meetings, advisory boards and committees, telephone calls and letters, or email, the Mesa City Council sets policies based on the input and needs of its citizens. 


Mayor John Giles


Councilmember Mark Freeman
District 1


Councilmember Jeremy Whittaker
District 2


Councilmember Francisco Heredia
District 3


Councilmember Christopher Glover
District 4


Vice Mayor David Luna
District 5


Councilmember Kevin Thompson
District 6