Show/Hide

Report a Non-Emergency Crime Online

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Welcome to the Mesa Police Department Citizen's
Non-Emergency Online Reporting System

IF THIS IS AN EMERGENCY OR A CRIME IS IN PROGRESS, PLEASE CALL 9-1-1.
 

Things to know when you report online:

  • You will receive a tracking number.
  • The incident reported will be reviewed.
  • If further investigation of the case is needed, you may be contacted.
  • Once the incident report is approved, a report number will be emailed to you.
An email account is required to submit an online report.
If you do not have an email account, create a free email
account using Google or Yahoo and return to this page when you have one set up.
Please Note: Filing a false police report is a crime!
Anyone filing a false report may be prosecuted under
Arizona Penal Code section 13-2907.01A of the Arizona Revised Statutes. 

 

 Follow these steps to find out if online filing is right for you:

  1. Did the incident take place within the Mesa city limits and within the jurisdiction of the Mesa Police Department? If yes, continue. If the incident occurred in a County Island within Mesa, call the Maricopa County Sheriff's Office (MCSO) at 602-876-1853.

    To verify, enter your address in the Search Address box on this page. Some areas of Mesa are under the jurisdiction of MCSO.
     
  2. Is this a violent crime? If yes, call 9-1-1. If no, continue.
     
  3. Are you 18 years or older? If yes, continue. If no, call 480-644-2211, option 2.
     
  4. Are you adding information to an existing report? If no, continue. If yes, have the report number available and continue.

Read to select appropriate crime type. Click the title or icon to be taken to the CopLogic website.

Crime Type:  
Criteria: You can create your own Crime Report for these specific types of crimes, as long as the ABOVE four general criteria are met AND...

 

CRIMINAL DAMAGE

CriminalDamage

 

The act of damaging or defacing public or private property.
  1. The crime is NOT in progress. If the crime IS IN progress, please call 480-644-2211, option 2, or 9-1-1.
  2. Damage does not include graffiti or damage from another vehicle.
Examples: Deliberately scratching a car's paint, knocking over a mailbox, throwing a rock through a window.

 

VEHICLE BURGLARY

VehicleBurglary

 

The stealing of property from the inside or outside of a motor vehicle.
  1. The crime is NOT in progress. If the crime IS IN progress, please call 480-644-2211, option 2, or 9-1-1.
  2. You do not know the suspect involved in the crime.
  3. The total value of the items stolen is less than $1,000.
  4. If the total value of items stolen is MORE than $1,000, please call the non-emergency number at 480-644-2211, option 2, to file a report.
Examples:You come out from shopping and find the side mirrors from your vehicle are gone.  You discover your vehicle was broken into overnight and your laptop is gone.
 

 

SHOPLIFTING

Shoplift

 

The stealing of merchandise that was not paid for.
  1. The crime is NOT in progress. If the crime IS IN progress, please call 480-644-2211, option 2, or 9-1-1.
  2. You do not know the suspect involved in the crime.
  3. The total value of the loss is less than $1,000.
  4. If the total value of items stolen is MORE than $1,000, please call the non-emergency number at 480-644-2211, option 2, to file a report.
Example: Unidentifiable person(s) enter a store, take beer and candy then exit the store without paying for the items. Unidentifiable person(s) change the purchase price of an item to a lesser amount, pay that amount and exit the store without paying the correct price for the item.
 

 

THEFT

Theft

 

The taking of personal property without permission or consent.
  1. The crime is NOT in progress. If the crime IS IN progress, please call 480-644-2211, option 2, or 9-1-1.
  2. You do not know the suspect involved in the crime.
  3. The total value of the items stolen is less than $1,000.
  4. If the total value of items stolen is MORE than $1,000, please call the non-emergency number at 480-644-2211, option 2, to file a report.
  5. The theft is NOT any of the following: credit card, vehicle, firearm, material threatening to public safety (i.e., explosives or highly toxic substances).
  6. License Plate thefts MUST be reported by calling 480-644-2211, option 2. This ensures that they are entered into ACIC as stolen in a timely manner.
  7. Government IDs or documents (passports, green cards, visas, etc.) CANNOT be reported online. Please call 480-644-2211, option 2.
  8. Theft of dangerous items which includes, but is not limited to, firearms, explosive material or ammunition, etc., CANNOT be reported online. Please call 480-644-2211, option 2.
Examples: Unidentifiable person(s) take a bike from your front yard or the front of a business. Unidentifiable person(s) take flowers or holiday decorations from your yard.
 

 

IDENTITY THEFT

IdentityTheft

 

The illegal use of someone's personal information (such as Social Security number), especially in order to obtain money or access that person's financial resources.
  1. AFTER completing an Identity Theft report and after the report has been approved by a Mesa Police Officer, the victim MUST ALSO COMPLETE a Mesa Police Fraud Packet.

If you are the victim of Identity Theft or Fraud, please find and keep all papers, receipts, cancelled checks, mail from companies, etc., related to the crime. We may contact you to get these items, if needed, and you should keep copies for your records.

Examples: A person uses your Social Security number with a fake name and made up date of birth to gain employment, set up a bank account, get a loan, or open any type of account. Someone using your name files a change of address with the post office.

More information on Identity Theft and protecting your private information can be found on our Crime Prevention Publications page.

 

HIT and RUN

HitRun

 

The act of colliding with a person, their personal property or a fixture, and failing to stop and identify oneself afterwards.
  1. No one was injured.
  2. You do not know the suspect involved in the crime.
  3. You cannot identify the suspect and do not have suspect license plate information.
  4. You do not have surveillance video that identifies the suspect.
  5. Damage is less than $1,000.
  6. If the damage value is MORE than $1,000, please call the non-emergency number at 480-644-2211, option 2, to file a report.
Examples:You are on a public street when another vehicle collides with yours, then speeds off without providing information.  You come out from shopping and find someone has backed into your vehicle and they did not leave a note with contact information.
 

 

LOST PROPERTY

LostProperty

 

Property that has been left in an unknown location involuntarily, through no one's fault, and cannot be found.
  1. Property is lost.
  2. License plates and government IDs or documents (passports, green cards, visas, etc.) CANNOT be reported online. Please call 480-644-2211, option 2.
  3. Any dangerous items which includes, but is not limited to, firearms, explosive material or ammunition, syringes, etc., CANNOT be reported online. Please call 480-644-2211, option 2.
Example: You drop your wallet/purse while shopping. You have looked everywhere, but cannot find it. You have checked with your bank and credit card companies and none of your cards have been used fraudulently.

 

FOUND OR ABANDONED PROPERTY

Found or Abandoned Property

 

 

Property which is found and the owner cannot be located or property appears to be abandoned.

  1. Once the online report is approved, a police investigator will call and make arrangements to pick the property up.
  2. Vehicles which appear to be abandoned cannot be reported here. 
  3. Any dangerous items which includes, but is not limited to, firearms, explosive material or ammunition, syringes, etc., CANNOT be reported online. Please call 480-644-2211, option 2.

Example: You find a backpack in the street and no one is around; it appears to be abandoned.


 

MoreInfo

 

  1. Add additional property or information to a previously reported case.
  2. Update status of property previously reported, i.e., "recovered, damaged, lost or stolen."
  3. This will apply to any report you have already filed, whether an officer took your information or you filed your report here online. You must have the original case number.
  4. Click here to provide this information.

 

Click here to create your report now or to add information to a previously filed report. You will be taken to the CopLogic website to make your report.