• Mayor and Council header

Office of the Mayor & Council

PO Box 1466
Mesa, AZ 85211

Hours of Operation

M-Th 7am-6pm

Contact Information



Mayor & Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Find your Council District

City Council Meeting Information and Agendas

City Council Meetings and Study Sessions Notice

To decrease COVID-19 exposure, the City Council Chambers is closed, but public participation and viewing will be available electronically. 

See the City Council Meetings page for full details about meeting participation

Mesa operates under a charter form of government with citizens electing a mayor and six councilmembers to set policy for the City.

Mesa's councilmembers serve terms of four-years, with three members being elected every two years. The mayor is elected at-large every four years. The mayor and council are elected on a non-partisan basis. The vice mayor is selected by the City Council.

The Mesa City Council believes that its people, not leaders, are what makes a City great and actively works to encourage citizen participation in the decision-making process. Whether it is through neighborhood meetings, advisory boards and committees, telephone calls and letters, or email, the Mesa City Council sets policies based on the input and needs of its citizens. 


Mayor John Giles


Vice Mayor Mark Freeman
District 1


Councilmember Jeremy Whittaker
District 2


Councilmember Francisco Heredia
District 3

Jen Duff
Councilmember Jen Duff
District 4


Councilmember David Luna
District 5


Councilmember Kevin Thompson
District 6